



AUSTRALIA'S GREATEST DESERT RACE

OUEENS BIRTHDAY WEEKEND 5-8 JUNE 2015

11th February 2015

Media Release

Original Finke competitors welcomed back for 2015 event

The Finke Desert Race Club today announced that those who competed in the first race in 1976 will be invited back to ride during this year's event.

"There were 56 competitors in the original race that was called the 'There and Back' and we are keen to see as many of those as possible back in Alice Springs in June", said Club President Antony Yoffa.

On prologue day, there will be a demonstration ride around the prologue track for those who competed in the first race. They will be joined by past champions.

"Those who competed in 1976 and all former winners will test themselves in the time trial in front of an anticipated huge spectator gallery. The ride will occur between the car and bike section", said Mr Yoffa.

"There are a number of original competitors who are intending to return to Alice Springs in June and they will be bringing their original bikes".

Former champion Stephen Gall (1983, 1986) has confirmed he will participate in the demonstration ride.

Six former winners) will compete this year in the main race. They are Phil Lovett (1981, 1982, 1985), Rick Hall (1999, 2002), Darren Griffiths (2003), Ryan Branford (2006), Todd Smith (2013) and reigning champion Toby Price (2010, 2012, 2014).

Toby Price recently finished in 3rd place in his first Dakar Rally in South America.